What is compulsive exercise?  I would love it if you could talk…

What is compulsive exercise? 

I would love it if you could talk more about excessive exercise, and the need to keep increasing it, why we want to do this? It would be helpful to hear it from your perspective!

Compulsive exercise is something many of my eating disorder patients struggle with. First I want to define compulsive exercise: I consider it compulsive when it interferes with your ability to live your life. This could be getting up at a crazy time to fit in all of your exercise, or missing out on fun events with friends because you didn’t get in all of your exercise that day. It can also mean that you keep having to add in exercises and CANNOT take them away EVER! It is my belief that this stems from the OCD component of EDs. If you watch my older video about calculations and all of the record keeping we do when we are in our EDs you can see why the exercise would slowly add up when we are struggling. The best way to combat this is to talk back to that voice telling you to get up, exercise more, miss that fun event to go running, etc. It is the first task in my free ED workbook for a reason. Cause it’s so important to our recovery to get that voice to quiet down. I hope this helped shed some light on over exercise and how to fight back! You can do this!! xox

By: Kati Morton.
Support Kati Morton on Patreon

What is compulsive exercise?  I would love it if you could talk…

Leave a Reply

